Sunday, April 18, 2021

Bulldogs lock down Wardens in season opener

by By John Heglie, For the Leader
| March 30, 2021 3:00 PM

At St. Ignatius, the Mission-Arlee-Charlo Lady Bulldog softball squad kicked off their season by routing the Lady Wardens of Deer Lodge in their conference clash. Every M-A-C batter reached base during the course of the abbreviated contest either by hit, walk or bean ball.

Leadoff hitter Jerny Crawford smacked an RBI triple, while sister Rheid Crawford generated five RBIs with a pair of doubles. The Lady Bulldogs benefitted from 10 base runners getting on board either by walk or hit-by-pitch.

Kooper Page fanned a half dozen, throwing a one-hit shutout while issuing only one walk.

M-A-C faces three Class A teams in nonconference action as they host Hamilton and travel to Frenchtown, followed by a faceoff with the Maidens in a cross classification county clash on Tuesday, April 6, in Ronan.

Mission-Arlee-Charlo 15, Deer Lodge 0

M-A-C (1-0), Deer Lodge (0-1)

D.Lodge 000 — 0 1 5

M-A-C 375 — 15 5 0

Emily Pentland and Kelly Lamb. Kooper Page (6K,1H,1W) and Katelyn Young. W – Ko.Page (1-0).

DEER LODGE – Taylor Stevenson 0-2, Taryn Lamb 0-1(BB), Eliana Grande, Pentland 0-1, Clara Graveley 0-1, K.Lamb 1-1, Madison Burrow-Davy 0-1, Skyla Pierson 0-1, Holly Henze 0-1.

MISSION-ARLEE-CHARLO – Jerny Crawford 1-2, Liev Smith 0-1, Hayleigh Smith 0-2, Izzy Evans 1-1, Ko.Page 0-0, Rheid Crawford 2-2, Bennan Anderson 1-2, Payton Smith 1-1, Cassidy Orr 1-1, Young 0-0, (flex) Maysa Couture.

3B – J.Crawford. 2B – R.Crawford 2. RBIs – R.Crawford 5, J.Crawford, Orr. SH – Young. BB – T.Lamb; Evans, Ko.Page, R.Crawford. HB – J.Crawford, L.Smith 2, Evans, Ko.Page 2, Anderson. SB – L.Smith, P.Smith, Young. Runs – J.Crawford 2, L.Smith 2, H.Smith, Evans 3, Ko.Page 3, R.Crawford, Anderson 2, P.Smith. (Sa27Mar21)

2021 Mission-Arlee-Charlo roster

No. 3 Jerny Crawford (ss), Arlee, So.

No. 12 Liev Smith (3b), Charlo, Sr.

No. 7 Hayleigh Smith (cf), Charlo, So.

No. 4 Izzy Evans (lf), Mission, Fr.

No. 23 Kooper Page (p), Mission, So.

No. 5 Rheid Crawford (2b), Arlee, So.

No. 22 Bennan Andersen (dp), Charlo, So.

No. 11 Payton Smith (1b), Charlo, Fr.

No. 10 Katelyn Young (c), Charlo, Jr.

No. 47 Maysa Couture (rf/flex), Mission, Jr.

No. 3 Cassidy Orr (if), Mission, So.