Thursday, May 19, 2022

Polson voters reject two school bond requests

by Lake County Leader
| May 3, 2022 11:29 PM

Unofficial election results released May 3 by Lake County Election Administrator Toni Kramer indicate Polson voters have rejected a pair of school bond issues.

The Polson School Board voted in February to proceed with a bond request of up to $32.2 million for the elementary district and $17.7 million for the high school district. The bonds were presented as separate measures on the ballot.

The Elementary District bond received 1,688 votes (49.4%) in favor and 1,732 (50.6%) against. The High School District bond received 1,778 votes (46.8%) in favor and 2,020 (53.2%) against.

Passage of both school bond proposals would have resulted in a 25-year loan term, according to district representatives. Taxpayers would be affected by the assessed value of their homes per 100 thousand dollars. For example, the owner of a $100,000 home would have owed $8.86 a month, or $106.35 a year, and an owner of a $200,000 home would have owed $17.72 a month, or $212.70 a year, continuing up per $100,000 valuation of each home.

Devon Cox received the most votes in a three-way race for two seats on the Polson School Board. Cox received 1,731 votes in the unofficial tally. Nathaniel Netzer received 1,361 votes. Incumbent Dana Hewankorn is third with 1,338 votes. The top two finishers will serve two-year terms.

Joanna Browning ran unopposed for another seat on the Polson board, a one-year term, and received 2,358 votes.

Ronan also had a three-way race for two seats on its school board. Kevin Detwiler leads with 602 votes, followed by Diana Luke with 559 and Matthew Connally with 298.

Brian Bigsam leads a tight three-way race for two school board seats in Arlee. Bigsam has 291 votes in the preliminary tally, followed by Ron Ritter with 241 and Sarah Travis with 225.

Tony Incashola Jr. leads Darren Orr, 345 votes to 203, for the lone St. Ignatius School Board seat on the ballot.

In Charlo’s three-way race for two seats, Adrian Roylance leads with 248 votes, followed by Stephanie Smith with 215 votes and Terrance Rosenbaum with 136.

Four candidates are vying for three two-year school trustee positions in the Chief Cliff Fire Service. Amanda Ranstrom Adams leads with 162 votes, followed by Clarence Beede (127), Kathy Wilson (48) and Linda Hayes (29).

There were four candidates on the ballot for three director positions with the Pablo Water and Sewer District. Clay Sloan leads that race with 61 votes, followed by June Skaggs (55), Wade Culp (46) and Royce Vanness (41).

Kramer said Monday that Polson's turnout was about 46% among active, registered voters. Turnout for other municipal districts was 35% in Charlo, 32% in Arlee, 30% in St. Ignatius and 26% in Ronan.