Friday, June 14, 2024

Polson, St. Ignatius elect new council members

Editor | November 16, 2023 12:00 AM

Despite some confusion over the write-in election for Polson’s Ward 2 in last Tuesday’s election, Lisa Rehard received 230 votes to David Coffman’s 121. Since neither name actually appeared on the ballot, voters had to write in their preferred candidates.

Rehard, a native of Butte and retired attorney, will serve a four-year term on the Polson City Commission beginning Jan. 1. She replaces commissioner Tony Isbell, who opted not to run for another term.

St. Ignatius voters chose one incumbent and one newcomer in a close three-way race for two seats on the city council. Incumbent Janis Heffern received 78 votes, Rikki Menz-Merchant tallied 75, and incumbent Steve McCollum collected 68.

The St. Ignatius Rural Fire District levy passed easily, 326 to 164.